You are hereEvents / Events

Events


Select event terms to filter by
Select event type to filter by
Saturday June 18, 2011
Start: 06/18/2011 7:00 am

From McGee Creek trailhead (8100) we’ll hike up the trail to Big McGee Lake (10400), probably encountering spring slush before we make camp. We have the option of climbing the big southeast snow slope of Red & White Mountain (12816) on Saturday or Sunday. Previous climbers promise that we’ll enjoy the impressive summit that rises hundreds of feet above the ridge, looking tough, but turning out to be a pleasant scramble up a colorful mass of unexposed rock.

Leader: Aaron Schuman 650-968-9184
Co-leader: Joe Baker

Sunday June 19, 2011
Start: 06/18/2011 7:00 am
End: 06/19/2011 6:00 pm

From McGee Creek trailhead (8100) we’ll hike up the trail to Big McGee Lake (10400), probably encountering spring slush before we make camp. We have the option of climbing the big southeast snow slope of Red & White Mountain (12816) on Saturday or Sunday. Previous climbers promise that we’ll enjoy the impressive summit that rises hundreds of feet above the ridge, looking tough, but turning out to be a pleasant scramble up a colorful mass of unexposed rock.

Leader: Aaron Schuman 650-968-9184
Co-leader: Joe Baker

Monday June 27, 2011
Start: 06/27/2011 2:00 am
End: 06/27/2011 8:00 pm

We will attempt to climb the peak in one day. We will start from Bunny Flat at 2 am. We will plan to be on the summit by 11 am. We will be back at our cars before dark. We will be doing the standard route up Avalanche Gulch. An ice axe and crampons will be required. Hands-on training with the ice axe is necessary and everyone must have used an ice axe for self-arrest.

Contact George Van Gorden at gvangorden@gmail.com

Thursday July 07, 2011
Start: 07/07/2011 9:00 am
Friday July 08, 2011
Saturday July 09, 2011
Sunday July 10, 2011
Monday July 11, 2011
Tuesday July 12, 2011
Start: 07/12/2011 7:00 pm

The July meeting is our annual BBQ and gear exchange on July 13 at 7:00 at Wildwood Park BBQ area A.
Bring a dish to share, your own specialty, or choose according to first letter of your last name:

A-G Main course (think grilled items)
H-M Appetizer
N-S Veggie or Fruit side
T-Z Dessert

Bring your own beverage (alcohol is ok), $3 to cover reservation and BBQ coals, dinnerware, friends,family, and used gear.

Wednesday July 13, 2011
Thursday July 14, 2011
Friday July 15, 2011
Saturday July 16, 2011
Sunday July 17, 2011
Start: 07/07/2011 9:00 am
End: 07/17/2011 6:00 pm

Upcoming Events